Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Dunedin U3A Charitable Trust held at Otago Golf Course on Thursday 31 May 2018 at 10:30 a.m.

Present: Gretchen Kivell (Chair) 67 members and 5 guests.

Apologies: Sue and Bruce Cathro, Lin Phelan, Norma Restieaux, Jan Lawrence, Wendy Fallon, Phil O'Connell–Cooper, Wyn and Gil Barbezat, Catherine McGrath, Jane and Richard Higham, Leah Taylor, Kathy Mayo, Susan Hutt, Louise Crook, Barbara Holborow, Anne Charlotte, Alison Mulder, Rosemary Beresford, Isabel Campbell, Chris Lovell-Smith, Polly Higham, Anna Holmes, Robyn Selbie, Isobel and David Philips, Anne Limburg, Betty Rawlings, Elizabeth Timms, John Shanks, Ngaire Bates.

Received: Gretchen Kivell/Alan Jackson

Minutes : of the AGM held on Monday 26 June 2017(circulated to all attendees)

Confirmed: Gretchen Kivell/Stephen Baird

There were no matters arising.

The presentation of the Annual Report (previously circulated to all attendees) by the Chair.

Gretchen Kivell read her report outlining the demands of catering for the membership of 853 plus the highlights of the last financial year.

She acknowledged the Dunedin U3A life members, Alan Horseman, Brian O'Rourke and also Lin Phelan, who remains an active member.

She noted the skills of Lynda Jackson whose excellent work holds U3A together, and of the Board Secretary Marion Potter whose work and organisational knowledge is so important to the management of the Board.

When referring to the election of the 2018-19 Board, Gretchen Kivell acknowledged the retirement of a valued member Stephen Baird. Stephen has made significant contributions to the Board when his legal knowledge was of great assistance.

She expressed delight that Marion Potter is this year standing to be a member of the Board, and she introduced two new members standing for the Board. Jude Hathaway, originally from Southland, was a journalist with the Otago Daily Times for 29 years. Jill Geary was originally from Auckland where she worked for 25 years in TV news; she has worked in Real Estate in Dunedin for 18 years.

Gretchen Kivell advised that she would be stepping down as Chair of the Board at its next meeting, when the positions of Chair, Deputy Chair, Secretary and Treasurer are all elected or reappointed.

The Chair expressed her appreciation to the current Board for their dedication, commitment good humour and sense of purpose.

Gretchen moved the adoption of her report, seconded Matt Harger Carried.

The presentation of the Financial Report from the Treasurer.

Evan Taylor spoke to his financial summary (which along with the detailed balance sheet was previously available to all attendees)

A surplus of \$12155 was achieved for the 2017 year compared with \$5347 in the previous year.

Reasons being the increased membership and course attendees.

No donations were made during the past year but it is anticipated that some will be made in the current year.

For the 2018 year a surplus \$10000, before donations is budgeted.

The Review of Dunedin U3A 2017 Financial Statements has been completed by Paul Glass and was circulated to attendees.

Evan Taylor moved that the Annual subscription remain at \$30.00 seconded Doug Holborow Carried

Paul Glass, who has been the U3A reviewer for the past 3 years is stepping down from this duty and a vote of thanks was made by Gretchen Kivell/Denise Harger.

Carried with acclamation

There followed a discussion as to which would be worthwhile donations in the future.

- \$10,000 scholarship
- A high profile person employed to run a course.
- Provide a scholarship for an older student (over 50 yrs) to attend University.
- New Horizons Trust assist students with difficulties
- Provide transport for immobile people.

All these suggestions will be considered in the future. Evan Taylor moved the adoption of his report, seconded Alistair Wright **Carried**

Election of the U3A Board for 2018-19

Nominations are:

Geoffrey Adams	Jude Hathaway	Jane Higham	Doug Holborow
Alan Jackson	Gretchen Kivell	Marion Potter	Barrie Peake
Evan Taylor	Alistair Wright	Stuart Strachan	Ngaire Bates
Jill Geary	Bill McKinlay		

With no further nominations, these were duly elected - Gretchen Kivell/Rosemary Hudson

The University Representative will be Elaine Webster and John Shanks (Web master) is an ex officio member of the Board.

A vote of thanks was made by Errol Holland to Gretchen Kivell for her effective guidance in the Chair this last year and to the Board for all their efforts. **Carried by acclamation**

The meeting adjourned to prepare for an address by Damien Van Brandenburg.